Home » national news » Bihar election Phase 2: 55 per cent voter turnout, women outnumber men again

Bihar election Phase 2: 55 per cent voter turnout, women outnumber men again

Somi Das | Updated on: 13 February 2017, 6:00 IST

Voting for the second phase of Bihar elections has ended. A total of 86,13,870 voters will decide the fate of 458 candidates on the 32 Assembly seats spread over six districts is up for the mandate. The districts are Kaimur, Rohtas, Arwal, Jehanabad, Aurangabad and Gaya.

Phase 4

This phase will prove to be a major test for the smaller allies of the NDA. BJP is contesting just 16 of the 32 seats that are going to polls while it's allies i.e Upendra Kushwaha's RLSP and Jitan Ram Manjhi's HAM(S) are contesting as many seats.

Here's the list of all the major constituencies and the candidates:

#Biharpolls: Know who is contesting in 2nd phase from your constituency

Stay with us as we update you about all the latest developments about this crucial phase.

6 pm

Voting closed at 5 pm. The final voter turnout was 55%, with 5% more women voting than men. This trend has continued after Phase 1 voting.

4 pm

The voter turn out at 4 pm inched up to 51.11%. Polling ended at 23 naxal violence hit seats. However, no untoward incident was reported.

2 pm

Voters' turnout till 2 pm: 46.99% seen until 2 pm for the second phase of



12 am

36.27% voters' turnout seen till 12 noon.


11 am

29.92% voters' turnout seen till 11 am.


10 am

A CRPF jawan Harendra Singh Gurjar died of heart attack while he was manning a polling station at Baseta village of Imamganj Assembly constituency of Gaya district. The jawan belonged to 169th battalion of CRPF. (Source: PTI)

Jitan Ram Manjhi alleged that large number of names of scheduled castes voters have been removed from the voters' list. "We have received information that names of scheduled castes have been removed from polling station located at project high school and polling station located at middle school in Dumraon village of Imamganj Assembly constituency". (Source: PTI)


10 am

Polling percentage of 20.61% seen till 10 am. (Source:ANI)

In the hourly bulletin released by the Election Commission, till 9 am, Kaimur recorded 12.50 per cent turnout, Rohtas recorded 12.87 per cent, Arwal 9.51 per cent, Jehanabad 12.02 per cent, Aurangabad 10.02 per cent and Gaya 8.73 per cent.

Rohtas recorded a maximum turnout of 12.87 per cent while Gaya recorded the lowest turnout of 8.73 per cent till 9 AM


9 am

Voter turnout in the first hour of polling: Kaimur- 4.71%, Rohtas- 6.73%, Arwal- 4.49%, Jehanabad- 3.44%, Aurangabad- 3.53%, Gaya- 7.89%.

Cane bomb found near Rafiganj (Aurangabad, Bihar) poll booth no. 144. Voting yet to begin there.


8:30 am

Polling interrupted due to technical snag in EVM machine in several polling booths in Sasaram.

The constituency is seeing a triangular fight among sitting MLA Jawahar Prasad, Grand Alliance's Ashok Kumar and an independent non-Kushwaha candidate, Krishna Kumar.

Bihar elections independent from Sasaram

Krishna Kumar, an Independent, is a Thakur and is hoping to encash the other castes' anti-Kushwaha sentiment. Photo: Shoumik Biswas/Catch News

Read more about the exciting contest in Sasaram, what the voters expect and if cast will trump development as the major agenda this election: Sasaram wants to vote for work, but caste stands in the way

Sasaram is associated with Babu Jagjivan Ram, who represented it in parliament for nearly 40 years. To know more the political and historical significance of the district read our special constituency profile:

#Biharpolls: Sasaram, a land which saw the rise of a king and a political icon


8:15 am

NDA alliance RSLP's MP Arun Kumar spotted voting in Jehanabad. Six candidates from Upendra Kushwaha's RSLP will test their electoral fate today. Pravin Kumar is the RSLP candidate from Jehanabad. He is up against JDU's Mundrika Singh Yadav.


8 am


A technical snag in in polling booth 247, Jehanabad led to delay in polling. Long queue outside booth. However, the problem has been resolved and voting has resumed.

Polling snag in Jehanabad

Good voters' turnout seen in the first hour of polling in Aurangabad.


Currently Aurangabad is represented by BJP's Ramadhar Singh. He is up against Congress' Anand Shankar Singh.

But beyond its political relevance, Aurangabad has a historical significance. Read some must know facts about this constituency.


Sun temple in Aurangabad

#BiharPolls: Welcome to Aurangabad, the land of Mauryas, Rajputs and Aurangzeb


7:15 am

Over 20 seats spread across in six Maoist infested districts going to polls today. A major challenge for security personnel.

ANI Tweet

Of all the phases, the second phase posed the greatest challenge to security personnel as all six districts - Kaimur, Rohtas, Arwal, Jehanabad, Aurangabad and Gaya - have been affected by Naxal violence one time or the other.


7:00 am: Second phase of #BiharPolls today, polling to be carried out for 32 seats.

Polling 2

It's an important day for Manjhi given that polling is underway in both the constituencies where he is fighting from -- Imampur and Makhdumpur. He is fighting against his bitter rival JD(U) leader and Speaker of the outgoing Assembly Uday Narain Chaudhary from Imampur.

While announcing his candidature against Chaudhary, Manjhi had said: "I am here to slay the demon." jiten-ram-manjhi-vs-Uday-Narain-Chaudhary.jpg

Read more about the interesting clash and the other heavyweight clashes that we will see in the second phase: #BattleForBihar: 5 key clashes in the second phase of elections

First published: 16 October 2015, 7:53 IST
Somi Das @Somi_Das

Somi brings with her the diverse experience of working in a hard news environment with ample exposure to long-form journalism to Catch. She has worked with Yahoo! News, India Legal and Newslaundry. As the Assistant Editor of Catch Live, she intends to bring quality, speed and accuracy to the table. She has a PGD in Print and TV journalism from YMCA, New Delhi, and is a lifelong student of Political Science.