Home » National News » Delhi Election Result 2020: 8 AAP’s women candidates who registered thumping victory in assembly polls

Delhi Election Result 2020: 8 AAP’s women candidates who registered thumping victory in assembly polls

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 12 February 2020, 11:34 IST

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal has retained power and all set to form his government for the third time after his thumping triumph in Delhi Assembly polls. On 11 February, Arvind Kejriwal led AAP won 62 seats out of 70 Assembly seats in the national capital.

Out of the total winning seats, 8 seats are given by its women candidates who have emerged victorious.

AAP had fielded nine women candidates in the recent Delhi Assembly Election 2020 and eight out of the total have registered victory.

Check out the names of female candidates who won Delhi Election Results 2020:

1. Bhavna Gaur (Palam Assembly constituency)

AAP’s Bhavna Gaur who was fielded in Palam Assembly constituency won after defeating BJP’s Vijay Pandit by 32,765 votes.

2. Atishi Marlena (Kalkaji constituency)

Atishi makes a tremendous come back after facing a defeat in the Lok Sabha elections 2019. She has won the Assembly seats by defeating Congress’ Shivani Chopra and Bhartiya Janata Party’s Dharambir Singh by 11,393 votes in her Kalkaji. The runner up at Kalkaji constituency is Dharambir Singh.

3. Parmila Tokas (RK Puram constituency)

She beat BJP’s Anil Kumar Sharma by over 10,000 votes in RK Puram assembly seat.

4. Preeti Tomar (Tri Nagar constituency)

Preeti Tomar triumphs over the BJP’s Tilak Ram Gupta in Tri Nagar by 10,710 votes.

5. Rakhi Birla (Mangol Puri constituency)

Another women candidates of AAP’s Rakhi Birla who marked victory in assembly polls by a margin of 30,116 votes in Mangol Puri by defeating BJP's Karam Singh Karma.

6. Raj Kumari Dhillon (Hari Nagar constituency)

AAP's Raj Kumari Dhillon, who won by 20,000 votes in Hari Nagar, defeated popular BJP leader Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga.

7. A Dhanwati Chandela (Rajouri Garden constituency)

She won the seat from Rajouri Garden by a margin of 22,972. She defeated the saffron party’s Ramesh Khanna.

8. Bandana Kumari (Shalimar Bagh constituency)

In Shalimar Bagh seat, BJP's Rekha Gupta lost to AAP's Bandana Kumari by a margin of over 3,000 votes.

However, the nine women candidate who only lost her seat is Sarita Singh from Rohtas Nagar. She lost her seat against BJP’s Jitender Mahajan.

Delhi Assembly polls 2020, 24 women candidates had contested the elections after getting tickets from AAP, BJP, and Congress.

Meanwhile, Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as a CM of Delhi on February 16, 2020.

Also Read: AAP's Amanatullah Khan takes a dig at Amit Shah over Shaheen Bagh, says 'current laga diya'

First published: 12 February 2020, 9:56 IST