Home » National News » Attacks on Kashmiris after Pulwama: SC issues notice to Centre, 10 states

Attacks on Kashmiris after Pulwama: SC issues notice to Centre, 10 states

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 22 February 2019, 13:08 IST

The Supreme Court issued a notice to Centre and 10 states on Friday on attacks against Kashmiris, after Pulwama terror attack, seeking their prompt response on its intervention to prevent alleged attacks on Kashmiri students.

The 10 states are Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Meghalaya, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Punjab and Maharashtra.

The petition filed by the Supreme Court advocate Tariq Adeeb on Thursday, who also requested for an urgent hearing and also mentioned controversial tweets by Meghalaya Governor Tathagata Roy who endorsed a call to boycott "everything Kashmiri".

A bench headed by Chief Justice of India Ranjan Gogoi asked nodal officers to take measures to prevent acts of intimidation, mob lynching, threats, assault, social boycott, etc, reported Bar and Bench.

"The chief secretaries, the DGPs and the Delhi Police Commissioner are directed to take prompt and necessary action to prevent incidents of threat, assault, social boycott against Kashmiris and other minorities," said the bench also comprising Justice Sanjiv Khanna.

The top court also told the Home Ministry to give wide publicity of the nodal officers' contact details so that those Kashmiri students who need help can approach them easily.

Also read: J-K: One terrorist gunned down by security forces in Sopore encounter; operation underway


First published: 22 February 2019, 11:28 IST