Home » National News » NDA names Nitish Kumar as next Chief Minister of Bihar

NDA names Nitish Kumar as next Chief Minister of Bihar

News Agencies | Updated on: 15 November 2020, 14:33 IST

Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar was named as the next Chief Minister of Bihar on Sunday following National Democratic Alliance's (NDA) legislature party meeting.

Nitish Kumar has already served as the Chief Minister for three terms. This will be his fourth term.

This came after the leaders of NDA met in Patna to deliberate on the Bihar Elections results.

Prior to their joint meeting, JDU and BJP held separate meetings in Patna today.

On Friday, the Bihar Chief Minister had tendered his resignation to state Governor Phagu Chauhan.

This comes as the constituents of the NDA, which secured a majority in the recently concluded Bihar Assembly Elections.

The BJP had won 74 seats, JD-U 43, while eight seats were won by other NDA constituents.


Also Read: Manoj Jha ahead of NDA meet: Nitish Kumar has no option but to comply with BJP

First published: 15 November 2020, 14:28 IST