Home » National News » Goa polls: Vote count shows early trends for Congress

Goa polls: Vote count shows early trends for Congress

News Agencies | Updated on: 11 March 2017, 11:53 IST
(Goa polls: Vote count shows early trends for Congress)

The latest trends for the counting of votes for Goa Assembly elections show a lead for the Congress Party.

The Congress is leading on seven seats, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on five, MAG on two, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on one and others on two.

Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar is trailing by 1,000+ votes, while the Congress is leading from Mandrem.

The counting of votes for the 40 seats in Goa Assembly elections started at 8 a.m. on 11 March, 2017.

The Election Commission (EC) has set up two counting centres in North and South Goa to declare the winners in 40 seats.

In Uttarakhand, the BJP is leading on 50 seats, Congress on 10 and others on four.

In Punjab, the Congress is leading in 66 seats as of now, giving a major setback to the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The latest trends from Punjab show the SAD-BJP alliance leading in 27 seats while the AAP has bagged 23 seats in its kitty so far.

In Manipur, Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has won from Thoubal seat.

The Congress is leading on 11 seats and the BJP on nine seats.


First published: 11 March 2017, 11:23 IST