Home » National News » Uddhav Thackeray's Journey: From photographer to first-ever CM of Maharashtra from Thackeray clan

Uddhav Thackeray's Journey: From photographer to first-ever CM of Maharashtra from Thackeray clan

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 28 November 2019, 17:14 IST

After winning the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation elections in 1985, the Chief Minister’s office in Mumbai’s Mantralay has steered clear of the Shiv Sena.

Bring to completion one of Balasaheb Thackeray’s holy grail as claimed by Shiv Sainiks, Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray is all set to become the first ever Thackeray Chief Minister, laying down the saffron outfit in it’s desired CM post.

Uddhav Thackeray, who initiated the breaking off of the BJP-Sena alliance of over 35 years, will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra at 6:40 PM today at Shivaji Park where Balasahed Thackeray’s memorial is placed.

Following the oath ceremony, Uddhav Thackeray will have to set out for election to the Maharashtra Assembly within six months. His son Aaditya not long ago became the first Thackeray to contest elections. He was voted in as Worli’s MLA and is endorsed to get a cabinet post, according to sources.

Uddhav Thackeray youngest son of Balasaheb Thackeray was born on 27th July 1960, before getting into active politics, he was enthusiastic about photography. With a number of photos put on display at the Jehangir Art Gallery, he has also published two photo books Maharashtra Desh and Pahava Vitthal.

Taking over the charge from his father, Uddhav began his political career through the parties editorial Saamana, while he was the editor of the mouthpeice, Thackeray without beating about the bush criticised his own Shiv Sena CM Narayan Rane in 1999. This had eventually created difference of opinion between Thackeray and Rane, who was later expelled from the party.

Uddhav Thackeray, who has not at any time held an elected office, led the saffron party to a mammoth win in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation elections in 2002. this propelled his political career and in 2003, he was inducted as the Sena’s working president. His brother Raj Thackeray split up to form his own party Maharashtra Mavnirman Sena in 2005.

Following Balasaheb’s death in 2012, Uddhav officially took charge of the Shiv Sena. In the period leading to the 2014 State Assembly polls, the Shiv Sena had parted ways from their NDA ally BJP over seat sharing matter. After the BJP became the largest party in the 2014 Assembly polls, Sena restored harmony with their ally.

Amidst current political crisis in Maharashtra, Uddhav had on several occasions indicated that he will not ally with the BJP in Both the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, but later opted to stay in the alliance. After Assembly polls in October, with a combined tally of 161 seats (105 BJP, 56 Sena). Relations became bitter after the BJP denied to Shiv Sena’s demand, culminating to President’s rule in the state.

Capitulating to the Sena’s obstinate demand, Uddhav Thackeray was picked as the leader of the Maha Vikas Aghadi and staked claim to form the government. With Uddhav Thackeray becoming the next Chief Minister. The Governor has given till 3rd December to MVA to prove it’s majority.

Also Read: 2 ministers each of Shiv Sena, NCP, Congress to take oath alongwith CM

First published: 28 November 2019, 17:05 IST