Home » Education News » Rajasthan government to add NCERT books for RBSE students from next session

Rajasthan government to add NCERT books for RBSE students from next session

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 12 September 2019, 10:53 IST

Rajasthan Education minister Govind Singh Dostara on Wednesday said that government has decided to introduce NCERT books in state government schools or the government-affiliated schools from the next session.

Therefore, students from 2020 will read the syllabus of NCERT books.

As per the education minister, “the decision was taken on the recommendation of the syllabus review.”

Students from Class 6 to 8 will read the NCERT books of English and Hindi subjects from the next academic session.

Also, the government will add a new book of the NCERT, 'Hamara Rajasthan,' in three parts from classes 6 to 8 to educate students about the Rajasthan's geography, history and culture, he said.

For 9 and 11 classes, RBSE will also add the English and Hindi-medium books of the NCERT.

For classes 10 and 12, the existing syllabus will continue in the next academic session and the NCERT books will be introduced for these classes from 2021-22, the minister added.

According to the minister, there is a provision for the introduction of four books pertaining to the role of Rajasthan in the freedom movement (class 9), India after Independent-I (class 11), Rajasthan’s history and culture (Class 10) and India After Independence-II (class 12) will be added.

The reason behind the introduction of NCERT books to government schools, Education Minister said: “NCERT books will help students prepare for the civil services exam. The former BJP government attempted to change the syllabus, which was influenced by the RSS ideology. They tried to present historic battles like Haldighati as if they were the battles for religion but the fact is that such battles took place for power.”

-With PTI inputs

Also Read: Good news! UGC asks educational institutions to start recruitment process for faculty posts

First published: 12 September 2019, 10:40 IST