Home » cricket news » First time in history of Indian cricket; four wicket-keeper in playing XI

First time in history of Indian cricket; four wicket-keeper in playing XI

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 2 July 2019, 18:53 IST

First time in the history of Indian cricket the playing eleven has four wicket-keeper batsmen. The match between India and Bangladesh features four wicket-keeper batsmen in the playing eleven. MS Dhoni, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul are the four wicket-keeper batsmen.

KL Rahul opened the innings for India, while Rishabh Pant replaced injured Shikhar Dhawan in the mid-tour. MS Dhoni is keeping the wickets for India as usual while Dinesh Karthik replaced Kedar Jadhav to come in the playing XI.

Dinesh Karthik who made his ODI debut in 2004 is playing his first World Cup after 15 years. India won the toss and elected to bat first. KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma registered the highest opening partnership for India in World Cup history. The first wicket fell at 180 when Rohit Sharma was dismissed after he scored his fourth World Cup 2019 century.

KL Rahul scored 77 runs before he was dismissed by Rubel. Rishabh Pant was looking good before he was dismissed for 48 runs. MS Dhoni was dismissed for 35 runs by Mustafizur Rahman. India scored 314-9 from 50 overs. Mustafizur scalped his first five-wicket-haul in World Cup.

Also read: Rohit Sharma breaks Sourav Ganguly's World Cup record; equals Kumar Sangakkara

First published: 2 July 2019, 18:53 IST