Home » cricket news » Dhawan dropped, Mayank, Siraj picked for West Indies Tests

Dhawan dropped, Mayank, Siraj picked for West Indies Tests

News Agencies | Updated on: 1 October 2018, 13:50 IST
Dhawan dropped after a fantastic performance in Asia cup

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the Indian team for the upcoming two-match Test series against West Indies, starting October 4.

The first Test will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot from October 4-8, followed by the second Test at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad from October 12-16.

"Taking stock of the recent workload, the selectors have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya were not considered for selection, as they are yet to recover from their injuries," Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a statement.

Indian team for the West Indies Tests: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.


First published: 1 October 2018, 13:50 IST