Home » National News » PM Modi casts his vote for third phase of Lok Sabha elections in Ahmedabad

PM Modi casts his vote for third phase of Lok Sabha elections in Ahmedabad

News Agencies | Updated on: 7 May 2024, 8:23 IST
PM Modi casts his vote

Ahmedabad (Gujarat): Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday cast his vote at Nishan Higher Secondary School in Ahmedabad, Gujarat for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The Prime Minister was welcomed by Union Home Minister Amit Shah when he arrived at Nishan Higher Secondary School.

Earlier, PM Modi urged the people to cast their votes in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections to turn out in record numbers.

"Urging all those who are voting in today's phase to vote in record numbers. Their active participation will certainly make the elections more vibrant," PM Modi posted on X.

The polling started for 93 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and union territories in the third phase of the general election on Tuesday at 7:00 am.

The states and union territories where the elections are being held in this phase are Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (2), Goa (2), Gujarat (25), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (11), Madhya Pradesh (8), Uttar Pradesh (10) and West Bengal (4). The BJP has bagged the Surat seat unopposed.'

In this phase, more than 1300 candidates, including around 120 women, are in the fray. A total of 17.24 crore voters are eligible to cast their franchise in this phase at 1.85 lakh polling stations.

Prominent leaders to contest in today's poll battle include Union Home Minister Amit Shah, former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Digvijaya Singh, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav, and NCP (SP) leader Supriya Sule, among others.

In 2019 general election the BJP won 72 of the 93 seats that go to the polls today.

Polling for more than half of the total number of constituencies will be completed by the end of this phase.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held across seven phases, from April 19 to June 1.

The counting is scheduled for June 4. The Narendra Modi-led BJP is seeking a third term in power, while the opposition INDIA bloc is aiming to wrest power by stopping the juggernaut.



First published: 7 May 2024, 8:23 IST