Home » National News » MP Assembly Election 2018: Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Kamal Nath cast votes

MP Assembly Election 2018: Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Kamal Nath cast votes

News Agencies | Updated on: 28 November 2018, 9:26 IST
Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and state Congress president Kamal Nath on Wednesday cast votes at polling booths in Budhni and Chhindwara, respectively.

Chouhan, while speaking to media after casting his vote in Budhni, urged voters to come out and exercise their franchise.

Before leaving to vote, the incumbent chief minister, along with his family, offered prayers on the banks of River Narmada in Sehore district.

Kamal Nath, too, cast his vote after offering prayers at a Hanuman temple in Chhindwara district.

Speaking to ANI after casting vote, the Madhya Pradesh Congress chief exuded confidence over winning and said he has full faith in the people of the state.

"I have full faith in the people of Madhya Pradesh, they are simple and innocent people who have been robbed for a long time by BJP," Nath said.

Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia, who is contesting against Congress' Siddharth Lada, cast her vote at a polling station in Shivpuri.

Amid tight security, Madhya Pradesh is voting for a new assembly today. The voting is being underway at 65,341 polling booths, which have been set up for the single-phase elections to 230 seats of the state Assembly. As many as 2,000 booths will entirely be operated by women staff. Special arrangements have been made for visually impaired people to help them cast their votes.

A total of 5,04,95,251 voters including 41,30, 90 females and 1389 third gender will cast their votes to decide the fortune of as many as 2, 907candidates, who are in the fray. The State Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangements to ensure that polling takes place in a free and fair manner.

The result of the poll will be declared on December 11.


First published: 28 November 2018, 9:26 IST