Home » Tennis News » Government asks AITA to conduct election as per Sports Code

Government asks AITA to conduct election as per Sports Code

News Agencies | Updated on: 11 February 2017, 5:44 IST

To ensure that the National Sports Federations (NSFs) elect office bearers as per the Sports Code only, the government has hardened its stance and latest to fall in line is All India Tennis Association, which has agreed to elect its new President next month.

Sports Minister Vijay Goel on Saturday met with AITA Life President Anil Khanna and told him in clear terms that if AITA has to get back the recognition, they will have to elect a new President as per the Sports Code.

The government had de-recognised AITA recently after Khanna was elected President for a second term till 2020 at sports body's AGM in Indore on September 3 even as the veteran administrator refused to take up the post.

AITA's Executive Committee then elected senior bureaucrat Praveen Mahajan as the new President on December 1 but the government wants the Federation to hold fresh elections.

AITA will have its Annual General Body (AGM) meeting during the India-Spain tie in Pune from February 3-5 and elect a new President.

"We want all Federations to follow the government guidelines. We have nothing against them. We just want to ensure that proper procedures are followed as per the Sports Code. We will not tolerate any violation. Mr Khanna has agreed to hold elections," Sports Minister Vijay Goel said.

Before AITA, the government had forced Karate and Boxing Federations to conduct elections and elect office-bearers as per the Sports Code, which does not allow three consecutive terms to any official.

After two terms of four years, the officials have to serve a cooling off period of four years to be in fray for another term.

Khanna served as AITA Secretary General from 2004 to 2012 in two consecutive terms before becoming President for a four year term till 2016.

It is expected that Praveen Mahajan, only the second woman to be AITA President, will be formally re-elected President in Pune.


First published: 14 January 2017, 3:56 IST