Home » Tennis News » 28 not out: Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis equal record for longest winning run

28 not out: Sania Mirza-Martina Hingis equal record for longest winning run

News Agencies | Updated on: 14 February 2017, 5:15 IST

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis on Wednesday, 13 January, equalled the record for the longest women's doubles winning streak of 28 matches by advancing to the WTA Sydney International semifinals with a straight set triumph.

Top seeds Mirza and Hingis got the better of China's Chen Liang and Shuai Peng 6-2, 6-3 in less than an hour to enter the last-four stage and remain on course for a second successive title this year.

With this win, Mirza and Hingis won their 28th consecutive match to equal the record set by Puerto Rican Gigi Fernandez and Belarus' Natasha Zvereva in 1994.

Starting last year, Mirza and Hingis have won 10 WTA doubles titles together - Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and WTA Finals in 2015, and last week's Brisbane International.

In a totally lop-sided contest, Mirza and Hingis broke their rivals twice and saved one on their own serve to pocket the opening set with ease.

Liang and Peng's weak serve ensured that the second set followed a similar course. The Indo-Swiss combine frittered away seven chances but converted two, which was enough to give them the set and the match without breaking much sweat.

Mirza and Hingis will next be up against the winners of the match between Timea Babos and Katarina Srebotnik and Raluca Olaru and Yaroslava Shvedova.

First published: 13 January 2016, 7:10 IST