Home » patna news » Tejaswi Yadav to be Bihar's Deputy Chief Minister

Tejaswi Yadav to be Bihar's Deputy Chief Minister

News Agencies | Updated on: 13 February 2017, 9:40 IST

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's son Tejaswi Yadav will be the Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar. He has also been given the additional responsibility of three ministries.

Lalu Prasad Yadav's other son Tej Pratap Yadav has also been allocated three ministries in the Nitish Kumar-led Cabinet.

Senior RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui will be the next Finance Minister of Bihar while JDU's Vijendra Yadav will be Energy minister.

Congress's Ashok Chaudhary is going to be the next Education and IT minister of Bihar.

In a grand event today, Nitish Kumar was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the fifth time at the Gandhi Maidan here.

Lalu's sons Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejaswi Yadav also took oath as ministers of Bihar.

The ceremony was attended by RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav, his wife and former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi and their two sons.

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, former Prime Minister H.D. Devegowda, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, his National Conference counterpart Farooq Abdullah and Congress leaders in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and Ghulam Nabi Azad were also present at the event.

Former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir Farooq Abdullah, former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir and working president of National Conference Omar Abdullah, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) President Jitan Ram Manjhi, Janata Dal (United) leader Sharad Yadav, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh were also present at the event.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal also attended the event.

Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu represented the government at the event.

Delegations of leaders poured in here and assembled at the venue as Nitish took his oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar.


First published: 20 November 2015, 7:48 IST