Home » National News » LS Poll 7th Phase Voting: Heat of violence in Bengal after TMC-BJP clash; bombs hurled

LS Poll 7th Phase Voting: Heat of violence in Bengal after TMC-BJP clash; bombs hurled

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 19 May 2019, 12:18 IST

In the final phase voting, West Bengal has witnessed a heat of violence after clashes broke out between Trinamool Congress and BJP workers over EVM glitches and booth capturing. The situation worsened after TMC workers allegedly hurled bombs to prevent voters from casting their vote in North 24 parangas at Gilaberia.

Jadavpur BJP candidate Anupam Hazra's car was vandalized, alleges TMC workers who were trying to attack him. “TMC goons have beaten up a BJP Mandal president, a driver&attacked a car. We also rescued our 3 polling agents.TMC goons were going to carry out rigging at 52 booths. People are eager to vote for BJP but they are not allowing ppl to vote,” Hazra said.

Another Bombing has been reported from Islampur, where both party allegedly hurled crude bombs, bricks at each other. Women are protesting against blast. Media cars have been vandalized. Ten people including media persons were injured, all shifted to a nearby hospital. Workers from both the parties arrested and taken to the police station. A large contingent of police force rushed to the spot.

"Fearing the loss of seats, TMC jihadi brigade has been threatening saffron party workers in almost all the constituencies that go to polls," a BJP spokesperson said.

However, TMC Kolkata South Candidate Mala Roy alleges that central forces prevented her from entering the booth. Meanwhile, Voters hold a protest outside polling station number 189 in Basirhat in West Bengal and accuse TMC of booth capturing.  BJP MP candidate from Basirhat, Sayantan Basu said, "100 people were stopped from voting. We will take them to cast their vote." Additional forces arrived at polling station number 189 in Basirhat.

Also read: TMC calls poll body 'blind and deaf'; says 'PM Modi visit to Kedarnath violates poll code'

First published: 19 May 2019, 12:17 IST