Home » IPL News » IPL 2018: These three bowlers can change the game in the last overs

IPL 2018: These three bowlers can change the game in the last overs

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 29 March 2018, 17:32 IST
Lasith_Malinga (Twitter)

Since its start in the year 2005, T20 cricket has witnessed a complete change in the way the game was perceived earlier. The game has seen all the earlier records of batting being broken by the batsmen. Even the rules of the T20 favour the batsmen. However, this very factor has led to the substantial increase in the significance of the death bowlers.

Today's T20 cricket is rather a batsman's game and the performance of the bowlers in the death overs has become very crucial for the teams to win matches. IPL, being a league completely based on the T20 format of cricket asks for the same. The bowling in death overs requires temperament, accuracy and the ability to hold nerves in case you get hit for a six and bounce back with equal force.


3. Dwyane Bravo


The bowler from west indies has proven himself on more than one occasion. The ability to bring change in his pace and delivering the balls wicket to wicket has been his mantra. Naturally, it's not easy for a batsman to adjust to the pace on every ball and that too in the death overs.Bravo has already won the purple cap twice, with 122 wickets in his IPL career so far. Apart from being a great bowler, he is a brilliant batsman and fielder as well.


2. Jasprit Bumrah


The 24-year-old bowler started his IPL career playing for Mumbai Indians. He didn't have the best start as a bowler proving to be quite an expensive bowler in his initial days. However, Jasprit Bumrah has changed his game completely since last 2 years. He has been the primary bowler for his franchise Mumbai Indians. He has also been a quintessential part of the Indian bowling attack.


1.Bhuvaneshwar Kumar


The bowler from Uttar Pradesh, who started as a specialist swing bowler didn't have the best start either. However, Bhuvi has grown into a specialist bowler who can perform in the times of need for his team and especially in the death overs. The bowler has won two purple caps in the IPL 2017 and 2017.


First published: 29 March 2018, 17:32 IST