Home » National News » Telangana Election 2018 Live Updates: Voting crosses 56% in Telangana; CM KC Rao, Akkineni Nagarjuna, Allu Arjun cast their votes

Telangana Election 2018 Live Updates: Voting crosses 56% in Telangana; CM KC Rao, Akkineni Nagarjuna, Allu Arjun cast their votes

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 7 December 2018, 15:54 IST

After a huge campaigning and war-of-words between contending parties, voting in Telangana for the Assembly elections 2018 has begun. Polling in 119 constituencies seats for the Telangana Assembly Election 2018 began at 8 am. 119-seats battle ground is now open with the Congress-led alliance challenging the ruling TRS, and the BJP seeking to dethrone its Opposition from the state.

According to Telangana’s Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar, polling will be held from 7 am to 5 pm in 106 constituencies while in 13 Left Wing Extremism affected constituencies polling will conclude at 4 pm.

Also read: Rajasthan Election 2018 Live Updates: Polling for 199 constituencies begins; CM Vasundhara Raje casts her vote

The fate of 1,821 contending candidates will be decided in the first full-fledged election in India's youngest state. Over 28 million electorates are eligible to exercise their franchise in the State, which has a total of 32,815 polling stations across.

Telangana Assembly Election 2018 Live Updates:

03:00 (IST): Voter turnout recorded till 3 PM in Telangana elections is 56.17%

02:00 (IST): Telangana Votes for 2018 Election by 1pm Ammur 46.20% Manakondur 45% Huzurabad 49% Dubbak 50% Miryalguda 51.25%

1:45 (IST): Challa Vamshi Chand Reddy, Congress candidate from Kalwakurthy, Mahbubnagar was allegedly attacked by unknown miscreants earlier today

1:30 (IST): Voter turnout recorded till 1 PM in Telangana Election is 49.15%

01:15 (IST): KCR's son KT Rama Rao casts his vote, tweets "I am inked, are you?"

12:58 (IST): Clashes erupt between Congress, TRS workers reported in Jukkal

12:50 (IST): Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao has voted today for the polls

12:45 (IST): BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya casts his vote at booth no.229 in Ramnagar of Musheerabad constituency in Hyderabad

12:30 (IST): Congress candidate attacked in Nagarkurnool's Kalwakurthy, blames BJP workers for violence

12:15 (IST): Sania Mirza casts vote in Telangana Assembly polls in Film Nagar in Hyderabad

12:00 (IST): Voter turnout recorded till 11.00 am in Telangana Election is 23.4%

11:15 (IST): Senior Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala has tweeted "The youngest state of India, Telangana has lost four precious years due to ‘Corruption, Commission & Coterie Raj’. Let us throw out the arrogance of power and usher in a New era towards a ‘Bangaru Telangana’

11:03 (IST): Kavitha Rao, KCR's daughter and Nizamabad MP queues up to cast her vote

10:59 (IST): A few villages boycott polls in Khammam and Rangapuram Thanda as none of their problems have been addressed

10:30 (IST): Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao Junior, also known as Jr NTR or Tarak, a well-known Telegu film personality was seen outside the  polling booth.

10:12 (IST): Badminton player Jwala Gutta tweetd "Surprised to see my name disappear from the voting list after checking online. How’s the election fair...when names arr mysteriously disappearing from the list"

10:00 (IST): Voting turnout recorded till 9.30 am in Telangana is 10.15%.

9:35 (IST): Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu tweeted, "Appealing to the citizens of Telangana to exercise their right to vote today. Remember that every vote counts and will make a difference."

09:18 (IST): Voting turnout in Telangana Assembly election is 8.97% till 9 AM

08:40 (IST): Opposition alliance led by Congress and TRS give front page ads in newspapers on polling day, EC says no poll violation

07:55 (IST): Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyan Srihari cast his vote in Warangal. 

07:50 (IST) BJP's G Kishan Reddy casts his vote at polling booth no.7 in Kachiguda, Hyderabad. 

07:45 (IST) Actor Allu Arjun stands in a queue to cast his vote at booth no. 152 in Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad

07:43 (IST) Actor Akkineni Nagarjuna and his wife & actor Amala Akkineni stand in a queue to cast their votes at booth no. 151 in Jubilee Hills, Hyderabad. 

07: 40 (IST) Minister G Jagadeesh Reddy today casted his vote at Suryapet.

07:35 (IST) Roads and buildings minister Tummala Nageswara Rao and his family members vote at Gollagudem village in Khammam district. 

07:30 (IST): TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao’s nephew and irrigation minister T Harish Rao cast their vote at Siddipet

07:25(IST): Highest number of 42 contestants in Malkajgiri constituency

Telangana's Malkajgiri Constituency has the highest number of 42 contestants and Banswada the least, 6.

07:50(IST): Voting is yet to begin at the polling station at GHMC Indoor Stadium, Amberpet due to a technical problem. Voting in the state began at 7 am today

07:45(IST): State Irrigation Minister T Harish Rao casts his vote in polling booth no. 102 in Siddipet constituency.

 6:30 am (IST): Voting to begin shortly in Telangana

First published: 7 December 2018, 7:52 IST