Home » National News » Karnataka elections 2018: BJP's B Sriramalu performs 'gau pooja' before polling; Yeddyurappa says BJP will win

Karnataka elections 2018: BJP's B Sriramalu performs 'gau pooja' before polling; Yeddyurappa says BJP will win

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 12 May 2018, 13:24 IST

After numerous campaigns and war of words, finally, the polling for the high-stakes assembly elections begins. The single phase voting for Karnataka assembly elections 2018 in the 222 constituencies has begun under a thick blanket of security. Polling will decide the fate of 2, 636 candidates fighting to win the poll. A few minutes before the polling the BJP's B Sriramalu performed 'gau pooja' (cow worship) before casting his vote in Bellary. B Sriramalu is contesting against Congress's CM Siddaramaiah from Badami constituency.

"I will fly to Delhi on the 15th once the results are announced and meet Prime Minister (Narendra), Modi. I will invite him and others for the swearing-in ceremony which is going to happen most likely on the 17th," Mr Yeddyurappa said. He is the BJP candidate from Shikaripura.

Karnataka assembly polls is a tough challenge for Congress-led Siddaramaiah who is contesting from Badami and Chamundeshwari, to form his leadership once again to beat BJP which is hoping to return to power in the state. Karnataka is the only southern state where BJP has been in power.

"Today People of Karnataka are standing in queues to create history & show the nation the way to liberal, progressive, peaceful & compassionate politics & governance. I thank them for their support & wish them well," Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah tweets.

The votes for the 222 constituencies of the 224 seats will be counted on May 15. Over 2,600 candidates are in the fray -- more than 2,400 are men and over 200 are women. The total voters including service electors according to the 2018 final rolls are 5,06,90,538, of whom 2,56,75,579 are male voters, 2,50,09,904 females and 5,055 transgender voters.

EC Officials said 58,008 polling stations have been set up across the state, of which 12,002 have been designated as "critical", with over 3,50,000 polling personnel on duty.


Also read: Karnataka Elections 2018: Voting for 222 constituencies; know all important facts about the Assembly polls

First published: 12 May 2018, 10:09 IST