Home » National News » Himachal results: Hamirpur candidate Ashish Sharma leads by huge margin

Himachal results: Hamirpur candidate Ashish Sharma leads by huge margin

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 8 December 2022, 13:01 IST
Ashish Sharma in Hamirpur

As per initial trends of Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election results, Independent candidate Ashish Sharma is leading in the Hamirpur constituency with huge margin.

On being asked of extending support to any party, Sharma said that he is waiting for the final announcement of the results.

“I'm awaiting the final results, and will take any decision (on extending support to another party) after the results are out,” he said.

Following Sharma are BJP’s Narinder Thakur INC’s Pushpinder Verma. Sushil Kumar Surroch of AAP is far behind.

Candidates contesting from Hamirpur seat are - Narinder Thakur (BJP), Sushil Kumar Surroch (AAP), Praveen Kumar Kaushal (BSP), Kashmir Singh Thakur (CPI(M)), Ashish Kumar (IND), Abhinay Bhardwaj (Rashtriya Devbhumi Party), Pushpinder Verma (INC), Naresh Kumar Darji (IND), Ashish Sharma (IND).

As per the initial trends, Congress party is leading in 39 seats, while BJP is leading in 25 seats. Independent candidates are leading in 3 seats and could potentially play a crucial role in government formation, as per ECI data till 12:55 pm.

The BJP is leading in Gujarat Assembly elections results but Himachal Pradesh is proving to be a tough fight for the ruling party. After nearly four hours of counting, the grand old party has increased its lead and is ahead with 38 seats.  


First published: 8 December 2022, 13:01 IST