Home » National News » Delhi Election 2020: Voting concludes, counting on February 11

Delhi Election 2020: Voting concludes, counting on February 11

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 8 February 2020, 18:54 IST
Delhi Election 2020 (PTI)

The voting for 70 member Delhi Assembly concluded at 6 pm. With the marginal improvement in voting in last hours, Delhi recorded 54 per cent polling till 5 PM, according to the Election Commission.

The voting for 70-members Delhi assembly concluded at 6 pm.

Prominent among those who cast their votes were President Ram Nath Kovind, former President Pranab Mukherjee, former Vice President Hamid Ansari, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Delhi Lt Governor Anil Baijal, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Congress president Sonia Gandhi, BJP leader LK Advani, and Union Ministers Harsh Vardhan and S Jaishankar.

Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra also cast their votes.

Over 1.4 crore people are eligible to cast their votes including 81,05,236 male voters and 66,80,277 female voters. There are 869 third gender voters.

Ballimaran is the smallest constituency in the national capital with an area of 2.50 square kilometres. Narela is the biggest with an area of 143.42 sq km.

The voting is being held at 13,571 polling stations of which 3,141 are critical and 144 vulnerable polling stations.

The contest is largely triangular between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party, BJP and Congress. Both BJP and Congress have given a few seats to their allies. AAP had secured a landslide victory in the last polls winning 67 seats. The results will be declared on February 11.

(With ANI Inputs)

Also Read:  Delhi Election 2020: My sixth sense says BJP will form govt in Delhi, says Manoj Tiwari 


First published: 8 February 2020, 18:54 IST