Home » National News » Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Will Congress’ endless efforts to end Raman Singh-led BJP’s 15 years of exile from power succeed?

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018: Will Congress’ endless efforts to end Raman Singh-led BJP’s 15 years of exile from power succeed?

Shriya Bhasin | Updated on: 11 December 2018, 8:24 IST

The much-awaited Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018 happened with great spring and the competition between the ruling party BJP and the opposition Congress began with a bang, also with a decision by the Election Commission (EC) of the two-phase polls for as many as 90 seats that happened today and the other to happen on November 20. While on one hand CM Raman Singh has stood up for the fourth time, on the other hand, there is Congress that has put in all of its efforts to gain a place and replace BJP’s 15 years of exile from power in the state.

If we go by the opinion polls that happened previously, a prediction came in where it was said that BJP has strong chances of winning it again in the 90-seat assembly. It is being expected that the party will gather some more seats this time and might get 50 out of 90, while on the other hand, the opposition Congress party’s seats might reduce from 39 to 30 this time and this has been predicted by India TV-CNX survey.

ALSO READ: Our Indian economy is suffering! Modi Ji, where is the change you wanted us to wait for?



Another reason why BJP’s win is being expected in the state is because of the candidate, says the survey, that about 40.71 per cent of people were in favour of Raman Singh, 19.2 per cent for Congress leader Bupesh Baghel, former CM Ajit Jogi had about 8 per cent share while TS Singh Deo had about 9 per cent people backing him. Not just this, a share of about 23 per cent believed that none out of the above were capable for the post.



After the survey, it was predicted by the political pundits that the most favourite amongst the CM candidate will likely win the elections. Meanwhile, these were the candidates who are on the ground of elections this time.

ALSO READ: Mr. Narendra Modi, here’s an open letter to you and your government asking you to stop this politics of religion

Raman Singh from BJP



Raman Singh has always maintained his image and has always maintained a balance between the welfare of the tribal as well as the development of the state whose inception came 18 years ago. Chhattisgarh, after its split from Madhya Pradesh has seen only two CMs namely Ajit Jogi and Raman Singh out of the two the later has been pronounced as the only ‘declared’ CM in high favour. Congress decided to bring minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee's niece Karuna Shukla opposite him in Rajnandgaon.

Bhupesh Baghel from Congress



Bhupesh Baghel, the President of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Congress Committee is also counted amongst one of the most deserving candidate from the Congress as he has a share of about 38 per cent people wanting him to be in power as compared to his competition in the party itself, TS Singh Deo, who only has 18 per cent people in his support.

TS Singh Deo from Congress



Not just the leader of the Opposition in the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, the richest candidate during the 2013 assembly elections, TS Singh Deo has been holded back by the high command in the party to not to be made the face of the party because it might alienate the supporters.

Ajit Jogi from BSP-JCC-CPI



The underdog of the race is being called the former CM, Ajit Jogi who has this time entered the race through his own party JCC that he has formed in alliance with Mayawati's BSP and CPI. Well, it is not sure whether he will win the show or not but it is definitely beings aid that he could grab enough seats which might create a problem in the formation of the government.  

ALSO READ: Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Statue Of Unity: Modi Ji, instead upon the statue, here’s how you could have used Rs 3000 crore

As per the early predictions, it is being said that Jogi will not form any government but still has a hope to play the role of a kingmaker, just like Kumaraswamy and might enter the state as the CM by entering into an alliance with a political party that has huge numbers than that of JCC-BSP-CPI. The voting for the remaining 72 constituencies of Chhattisgarh will take place on November 20 and the results will be out on December 11, 2018.

First published: 12 November 2018, 17:30 IST