Home » IPL News » IPL 2019 DC vs KKR: Rabada helps Delhi beat Kolkata after the first super over match of IPL 2019

IPL 2019 DC vs KKR: Rabada helps Delhi beat Kolkata after the first super over match of IPL 2019

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 31 March 2019, 0:20 IST
Kagiso Rabada

Delhi Capitals won the tightly fought match against Kolkata Knight Riders. Delhi won the match after it went into a super over. Prithvi Shaw's 99 run knock overshadowed Andre Russell's inning.

Andre Russell comes in to Kolkata's rescue once again as they finished the innings at 185-8. Russell also earned the orange cap after his 62 run knock.

Shreyas Iyer led Delhi Capitals won the toss and opted to bowl first against Kolkata Knight Riders. Kolkata didn’t have an ideal start as their top order was demolished by Delhi’s fierce bowling attack. Chris Lynn and Nikhil Naik opened the batting and their partnership was broken for just 16 runs.

Naik was bowled lbw by Sandeep Lamichhane for just 7 runs. Robin Uthappa came in and was dismissed by Harshal Patel for 6-ball 11. Chris Lynn was then picked up by Kagiso Rabada for 18-ball 20. Nitish Rana was dismissed by Harshal Patel for just 1 run.

Shubman Gill came in and became an unfortunate victim of a run-out for just 5-ball 4. Gill was dismissed by Lamichhane. Kolkata were 5 wickets down for just 61 runs and then skipper Dinesh Karthik and Andre Russell took the matters in their own hand. Both of them notched up 70 run partnership.

Andre Russell brought up his half-century in just 23 balls before he was dismissed for 28-ball 62. Piyush Chawla came in and hit a fantastic six to start his inning. Dinesh Karthik scored his half-century off 35 balls before he was dismissed by Amit Mishra.

Harshal Patel took two wickets for Delhi, while Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris, Sandeep Lamichhane and Amit Mishra took one each.

Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw came in to bat for Delhi in the second innings. Their partnership was broken by Piyush Chawla when he picked up Dhawan’s wickets for 16 runs. Prithvi Shaw went on to make an amazing 99 runs off 55 balls before Lockie Ferguson dismissed him.

Shreyas Iyer scored 32-ball 43 before he was dismissed by Andre Russell while attempting a shot. Rishabh Pant came in and scored 15-ball 11 before he was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav. Hanuma Vihari was dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav for just 2 runs. 2 runs needed off 1 ball, Colin Ingram was on strike and he hit the ball to take one run and the match ended in a draw. So this game became the first match of IPL 2019 to go into a super over.

Delhi Capitals came in to bat again with Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant, Iyer hit a four and got out off the next ball. Prithvi Shaw then came in and scored two runs. Prasidh Krishna did a good job to restrict Delhi for 10 runs.

Andre Russell and Dinesh Karthik came in to bat for Kolkata Knight Riders with Kagiso Rabada coming to bowl. Russell came in and hit the first ball for four. The second ball was a dot by Rabada and the third ball he bowled him out.


First published: 31 March 2019, 0:20 IST