Home » IPL News » Another controversy strikes IPL! Virat Kohli is angry and blame umpires for RCB's loss

Another controversy strikes IPL! Virat Kohli is angry and blame umpires for RCB's loss

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 29 March 2019, 0:11 IST
Virat Kohli

After Ravichandran Ashwin' mankading controversy, another one strikes IPL. The umpires did not call out the no-ball of Lasith Malinga. Malinga was out of the crease while bowling his last delivery which led into Mumbai's win. RCB skipper Virat Kohli was not happy at all by the poor decision making and the human error. 

Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 runs in a tightly fought match. RCB couldn't finish the game despite AB de Villiers scoring a fantastic half-century.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians finished at 187-8 after Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and elected to bowl first at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Openers Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock started well for Mumbai Indians. De Kock made 23 off 20 before he was bowled out by Yuzvendra Chahal while attempting a sweep shot. Sharma scored 33-ball 48 before he was dismissed by Umesh Yadav.

Yuvraj Singh came in and started slow but he picked up his pace in Chahal’s over as he hit three consecutive sixes. However, Chahal got better of him and dismissed Yuvraj for 12-ball 23. Suryakumar Yadav was dismissed for 24-ball 38 and Kieron Pollard for 5-ball 6 as Yuzvendra Chahal registered a bowling figure of 4-38.

Krunal Pandya was the next man to go as Umesh Yadav picked up his second wicket. Krunal was dismissed for 2-ball 1 as he was caught by Navdeep Saini at the fence. Mohammed Siraj bowled Mitchell McClenaghan out for just one run. Mayank Markande was dismissed by Siraj for 6 off 5 balls. Hardik Pandya scored 32 runs off 14 balls.

Yuzvendra Chahal took four wickets, while Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Siraj took two wickets each.

Parthiv Patel and Moeen Ali opened the innings for Royal Challengers Bangalore and both of them were looking good. However, Ali’s innings was cut short as he became the victim of an unfortunate run-out. Ali scored 13 off 7 before he was run-out by Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma.

Parthiv Patel was looking in good form as he scored 22-ball 31 before he was bowled out by Mayank Markande. Virat Kohli was dismissed right after he became the second batsman to score 5,000 IPL runs. Kohli scored 32-ball 46 before he was caught by Hardik Pandya off Jasprit Bumrah’s ball.

Shimron Hetmyer was the next batsman to go as he was dismissed by Jasprit Bumrah for 6-ball 5. AB de Villiers took his team to finishing lines but unfortunately couldn't finish it. De Villiers scored 70 off 41.

Jasprit Bumrah took three wickets from his four overs, while Mayank Markande took one. Lasith Malinga came in to bowl in the last over and delivered what was expected of him.

First published: 29 March 2019, 0:11 IST