Home » cricket news » 'Unchanged' India asked to bat first in Port Elizabeth ODI

'Unchanged' India asked to bat first in Port Elizabeth ODI

News Agencies | Updated on: 13 February 2018, 17:09 IST
Ind vs SA (ANI)

South Africa have won the toss and asked India to bat first in the penultimate fifth ODI of the six-match series at the St George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

Following the toss, Indian skipper Virat Kohli said that they too would have opted to bowl first had they won the toss, adding that they would try to restrict South Africa to a low total.

"We wanted to bowl first as well. Restrict them a total that we could chase down. The whole idea was to bowl at them for 50 overs with our wristspinners, who can exploit any conditions. Nevertheless, it will be a good wicket to play on throughout," Kohli said.

Meanwhile, Aiden Markram, the stand-in skipper in the absence of injured regular South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis, said, "Pretty clear on what we want to do. We've heard that it's skidding on under lights and that's the reason we want to chase."

As far as Playing XI is concern, India are going with the same squad that slump to a five-wicket defeat at the hands of the home side in the fourth ODI in Johannesburg.

South Africa, on the other hand, have made two changes. Tabraiz Shamsi has been brought in to replace Chris Morris, who has been suffering from a stiff back.

Leg-spinner Imran Tahir has been left out while Tabraiz Shamsi has been roped in the squad.

Heading into the match, the Kohli-led side will look to learn from their mistake in the last tie and wrap up the six-match series.

A victory in Port Elizabeth will ensure them their maiden ODI series triumph on the South African soil.

The hosts, meanwhile, are boosting with confidence following the victory in Johannesburg and that they will now look to build on the positives as they have an opportunity to end the six-match series on an even note.

The two squads are as follows:

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

South Africa Playing XI: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (capt), JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Morne Morkel, Lungi Ngidi.


First published: 13 February 2018, 17:09 IST