Home » cricket news » Johannesburg ODI: India win toss, opt to bat first

Johannesburg ODI: India win toss, opt to bat first

News Agencies | Updated on: 10 February 2018, 16:57 IST
India Vs South Africa (ANI)

India won the toss and elected to bat first against South Africa in the fourth One Day International (ODI) of the six-match series at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Saturday.

India's right-handed batsman Shreyas Iyer will come in for all-rounder Kedar Jadhav, who did his hamstring in the last game in Cape Town.

For South Africa, AB de Villiers is back into the team for Khaya Zondo while pacer Morne Morkel will replace Imran Tahir.

The Virat Kohli-led side is leading the series 3-0 and will aim to write a history here by winning the game and eventually the six-match series, as India have never won a series in South Africa.

On the other hand, the hosts will aim to keep the series alive to finish it on a draw. The luck also favours the Proteas here as the history of the last five years says South Africa don't lose on the Pink Day.

"We weren't sure what to do, we were leaning towards bowling first. Lots of could've, would've and should've in this game. The pink has brought us some luck," Stand-in-skipper Skipper Aiden Markram said after the toss.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

South Africa Playing XI: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (c), JP Duminy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Morne Morkel.


First published: 10 February 2018, 16:57 IST