Home » cricket news » Johannesburg 4th ODI: India eye historic win, Proteas hope for revival

Johannesburg 4th ODI: India eye historic win, Proteas hope for revival

News Agencies | Updated on: 10 February 2018, 12:03 IST
Ind Vs SA (ANI)

India will aim to clinch their first-ever series win in South Africa when the two sides play their fourth ODI of the six-match series at the Wanderers in Johannesburg later on Saturday.

Earlier, the Virat Kohli-led side took an unassailable 3-0 lead in the series by clinching a massive 124-run win against South Africa in the third ODI in Cape Town.

Now, a victory in Johannesburg will ensure them their maiden ODI series triumph on the South African soil.

The closest India came was in 2010-11, when the then Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led side took a 2-1 lead against South Africa, only to see themselves eventually lose the five-match series 3-2.

Meanwhile, South Africa, who have been hit by injuries, would hope to halt the visitors in the series after the return of their star player AB de Villiers.

De Villiers sustained an injury to his finger during the Johannesburg Test last month and was forced to rule out from the first three ODIs against India.

It should be noted that a fourth consecutive victory for India will also cement their spot at the top of the ICC ODI Rankings.

Previously, India have won three ODIs while losing four, including the infamous 2003 World Cup summit showdown against Australia, out of seven matches they have played so far at this ground.

The two teams are as follows:

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

South Africa: Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (wk).


First published: 10 February 2018, 12:03 IST