Home » cricket news » IPL 2018, CSK vs MI: Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to field first

IPL 2018, CSK vs MI: Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to field first

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 28 April 2018, 19:33 IST

Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to field first.

Chennai Super Kings will clash with Mumbai Indians in the 27th match of the Indian Premier League. The clash today is between the top and the bottom-most teams of the IPL. The Chennai Super Kings are currently placed at the top of the standings with five wins from 6 matches, while their opponent Mumbai Indians’ numbers are just the opposite – five losses from six matches – and hence are placed at the other end of the table.

It is being said that after Rohit Sharma's optimistic talk recently regarding winning the IPL title, Mumbai will play fearlessly. Whereas, CSK must be brimming with confidence after winning the sensational match played against Royal Challengers Banglore.

However, Mumbai are the team that has nothing to lose anymore and maybe this would drive them to come up with the best of their performances.

For CSK, today's match is just a chance to register one more win for themselves and confirm their berth in the playoffs but for the Mumbai Indians, it may be a no way back match. For, Mumbai has been consistently sitting on one of the lowest spots in the points table and a few more losses would mean the end of the journey to the IPL title for the defending champions.


Chennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni (C) (W), KM Asif Sam Billings Chaitanya Bishnoi Dwayne Bravo Deepak Chahar Faf du Plessis Harbhajan Singh Imran Tahir Ravindra Jadeja Kedar Jadhav Narayan Jagadeesan Kshitiz Sharma Monu Kumar Lungi Ngidi Suresh Raina Ambati Rayudu Mitchell Santner Kanishk Seth Karn Sharma Dhruv Shorey Shardul Thakur Murali Vijay Shane Watson David Willey Mark Wood


Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah Rahul Chahar Ben Cutting Akila Dananjaya JP Duminy Ishan Kishan Siddhesh Lad Evin Lewis Sharad Lumba Mayank Markande Mitchell McClenaghan Adam Milne Mohsin Khan Mustafizur Rahman MD Nidheesh Hardik Pandya Krunal Pandya Kieron Pollard Anukul Roy Pradeep Sangwan Tajinder Singh Aditya Tare (W) Saurabh Tiwary Suryakumar Yadav

Also Read: IPL 2018: De Villiers goes for a autorickshaw ride with his family; video goes viral

First published: 28 April 2018, 19:33 IST