Home » cricket news » Ind vs SA T20I: India look forward to end the South African tour on a winning note

Ind vs SA T20I: India look forward to end the South African tour on a winning note

News Agencies | Updated on: 24 February 2018, 13:54 IST
Indian_Cricket_Team (ANI)

India's long tour of South Africa will come to end when they take on the hosts in the decisive third T20I at Newlands here on Saturday.

Having won the five-match ODI series already, the Virat Kohli-led side will aim to return home with two trophies.

The three-match T20I series is currently tied at 1-1.

India won the first game by 28 runs in Johannesburg but tasted six-wicket defeat in the second after extraordinary innings from Henrich Klaasen and JP Duminy.

Coming to the decider game, Kohli will be again the player to watch, as the Indian skipper is just 17 runs away from becoming the first Indian to have 2000 runs in T20I format.

If he achieves the milestone, the Indian will be only third overall after New Zealand opener Martin Guptill (2188 runs) and his former teammate Brendon McCullum (2140 runs).

Meanwhile, it will be a T20I debut for the India at Newlands as the tourists have never played the shortest format cricket here.

South Africa, on the other hand, have lost five of the eight games played at the venue.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli (c), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav

South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, JJ Smuts, JP Duminy (c), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Junior Dala, Dane Paterson, Tabraiz Shamsi, Aaron Phangiso.


First published: 24 February 2018, 13:54 IST