Home » cricket news » Here's how Virat Kohli congratulated Narendra Modi after BJP's landslide victory

Here's how Virat Kohli congratulated Narendra Modi after BJP's landslide victory

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 25 May 2019, 9:22 IST

Narendra Modi was re-elected as prime minister by the people of India after Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) swept the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. After the results swayed in Modi’s favour, congratulatory messages started pouring in from all over the world.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was among other well wishers who congratulated Modi for his second term as prime minister. Kohli took to his official Twitter account to wish Narendra Modi. Kohli wrote, “Congratulations @narendramodi ji. We believe India is going to reach greater heights with your vision. Jai hind.”

Before Kohli, former Indian greats Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag also wished prime minister Narendra Modi for his party’s victory. Sachin wrote, “My heartiest congratulations to @narendramodi Ji & @BJP4India for winning the #LokSabhaElections2019...The nation is with you in building a brighter and stronger New India.”


Many world leaders also wished Narendra Modi for his landslide victory. Benjamin Netanyahu to Vladimir Putin, Donald Trump to Xi Jinping everyone was quick to notice Modi thumping win and called him to congratulate.

Under Narendra Modi and Amit Shah, BJP performed even better than the last time as they crossed the 300 mark. BJP has now got 303 lawmakers in the lower house of the parliament, while the principle opposition Congress settled with just 52 seats.

Also read: From Sachin Tendulkar to Virender Sehwag, here's how cricketers wished Narendra Modi

First published: 25 May 2019, 9:22 IST