Home » cricket news » Bengaluru ODI: Ruthless India aim for record winning streak

Bengaluru ODI: Ruthless India aim for record winning streak

News Agencies | Updated on: 28 September 2017, 12:30 IST

India will aim for a record ten victories on the trot for the first time in ODIs when they head into the fourth and penultimate game of the five-match series against Australia at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium here later today.

Having already clinched the ODI series against the Steve Smith-led side by 3-0, India will look to maintain supremacy and retain their recently-acquired top spot in the ICC rankings.

Meanwhile, Australian opener David Warner is all set to play his 100th ODI and his teammates would be rearing to give him a fitting tribute.

The Bengaluru ODI will also present India with an opportunity to touch a new high. The Men in Blue have never won five games in succession against Australia and this would be a great chance for them to achieve the same after having won four matches in a row.

On the other hand, Rohit Sharma is also on the verge of reaching a unique fifty. He needs to smash just two more sixes to become the first batsman in history to have scored 50 sixes against Australia.

On Wednesday, Indian leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal had said that the Virat Kohli-led side might have taken a lead in the five-match series, but they are gunning for a 5-0 whitewash.

Teams (from):

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Axar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Steven Smith (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade(wk), Peter Handscomb, James Faulkner, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Adam Zampa, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Kane Richardson. 


First published: 28 September 2017, 12:30 IST