Home » Bollywood News » Star Screen Awards: Irrfan Khan wins Best Actor for 'Hindi Medium'

Star Screen Awards: Irrfan Khan wins Best Actor for 'Hindi Medium'

News Agencies | Updated on: 4 December 2017, 11:50 IST

This year's Star Screen Awards saw the who's who of Bollywood in attendance.

This year, movie buffs witnessed many wonderful films and some fine performances by the actors.

Bollywood actor Irrfan Khan won the biggest award of the ceremony as he bagged the 'Best Actor' award at the star-studded event for his role in this year's runaway hit 'Hindi Medium'.

He expressed his happiness of winning the prestigious award by posing alongside his trophy for his fans.

The 'Qarib Qarib Singlle' star posted the photo on his official Twitter account and captioned it as, "Haasil se Hindi Medium tak, villain se popular Hero tak. Thankyou #StarScreenAwards2017."

While Irrfan swept the award for Best Actor, Vidya Balan won the Best Actress award for 'Tumhari Sulu', Neha Dhupia received an award for the best supporting actress and Suresh Triveni for best debut director (Tumhari Sulu).

Rajkummar Rao had a great night as he grabbed the best actor (critics) trophy for 'Newton' and best supporting actor for 'Bareilly ki Barfi', while 'Netwon' went on to win the award for Best Film too.

'Dangal' and 'Tumhari Sulu' won big at the awards. Both the films swept majority of the awards.5

Here is the full winners list:

  • Best Film - Newton
  • Best Director - Nitesh Tiwari (Dangal)
  • Best Actor - Irrfan Khan (Hindi Medium)
  • Best Actor (Critics) - Rajkummar Rao (Newton)
  • Best Actress - Vidya Balan (Tumhari Sulu)
  • Best Actress (Critics) - Konkona Sen Sharma (Lipstick Under My Burkha)
  • Best Supporting Actor - Rajkummar Rao (Bareilly Ki Barfi)
  • Best Supporting Actress - Neha Dhupia (Tumhari Sulu)
  • Best Debut Male - Aparshakti Khurrana (Dangal)
  • Best Dialogues - Nitesh Tiwari, Shreyas Jain and Rajat Nonia (Bareilly Ki Barfi)
  • Best Editing - Ballu Saluja (Dangal)
  • Best Choreography - Shiamak Davar (Jagga Jasoos)
  • Best Music - Pritam (Dangal)
  • Best Female Playback Singer - Shashaa Tirupati (Shubh Mangal Savdhan)
  • Best Male Playback Singer - Arijit Singh (Raees and Jagga Jasoos)
  • Best Lyrics - Amitabh Bhattacharya (Dangal)
  • Best Debut Director - Suresh Trveni (Tumhari Sulu)
  • Best Background Score - Pritam (Dangal)
  • Best Sound Design - Shajith Koyeri (Rangoon) 


First published: 4 December 2017, 11:50 IST