Home » T20 World Cup » NZ vs BAN: Kiwis remain unbeaten after 75-run win over Bangladesh

NZ vs BAN: Kiwis remain unbeaten after 75-run win over Bangladesh

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 February 2017, 6:03 IST

Kane Williamson-led New Zealand notched up their fourth successive win in the ICC World T20 after a comprehensive 75-run win against deflated Bangladesh in the Super 10, Group 2 tie at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 26 March.

Also read: 5 Aussies who can trump India in winner-takes-all affair

Shaken after losing to India in a cliffhanger, a demoralised Bangladesh produced a spirited performance to restrict in-form New Zealand to 145 runs. However, their batting order failed to survive the test on a tricky wicket which saw the team getting bowled by for a mere 70 runs.

Only three Bangladeshi batsmen were able to score in double digits as Grant Elliott (3-12) and Ish Sodhi (3-21) dominated the spin-friendly wicket at Eden Gardens. Shuvagata Rahim (16) turned out to be the top-scorer for Bangla tigers.

Bangladesh never looked comfortable in their chase, losing both their openers at just 29 runs in the first six overs. Their middle-order collapse ensured that the team lost their next six wickets for a mere 30 runs.

Mustafizur Rahman's sensational spell of 5-22 in four overs was the only silver lining for Bangladesh. Al-Amin Hossain was also impressive with his spell of 2-27, while captain Mashrafe Mortaza took 1-21 in three overs.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was the top-scorer with his knock of 42 runs off 32 balls including five fours and a six. Colin Munro, who is yet to fire in this tournament, also got 35 runs to his name at a strike rate of over 106.

After reaching 99 runs at the loss of three wickets, the Kiwis lost five wickets for a mere 40 runs on a surface that seems to be assisting spin bowlers at the moment. Munro's partnership of 42 runs for the third wicket with Ross Taylor (28) was pivotal for the Black Caps.

A compelling performance at the Eden Gardens means that the Kiwis finish their Super 10 stage with four consecutive victories and a 100 per cent win record. Bangladesh go home without a single win and four consecutive losses in the ICC World T20.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi (wk), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rehman, Abu Hider, Nurul Hasan, Al-Amin Hossain, Nasir Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammed Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Saqlain Sajib, Shuvagata Hom.

First published: 26 March 2016, 7:00 IST