Home » national news » Yasin Bhatkal, four others get death sentence for 2013 Hyderabad blasts

Yasin Bhatkal, four others get death sentence for 2013 Hyderabad blasts

News Agencies | Updated on: 19 December 2016, 18:46 IST

On 19 December, five people, including Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal were sentenced to death by a special NIA court in Hyderabad for the twin blasts in Hyderabad's Dilsukhnagar in 2013.

While the Indian Mujahideen has been banned since 2010, this is the first time its top leaders were found guilty of being actively responsible for a terror attack.

On December 13, the court convicted the five members, including IM co-founder Mohd Ahmed Sidibapa alias Yasin Bhatkal, Pakistani national Zia-ur-Rahman alias Waqas, Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, Tahaseen Akhtar alias Monu and Ajaz Shaikh, who are at present in judicial custody and lodged in the Cherlapally Central Prison here.

Eighteen people were killed and 131 injured in two deadly explosions in Dilsukhnagar, a crowded shopping area in the city, on February 21, 2013.

On November 7, the final arguments had concluded in the case before the NIA special court.

Since IM founder Riyaz Bhatkal, the prime accused in the case, is absconding, the trial was split up against him.

The court convicted Yasin Bhatkal and others under various sections of Indian Penal Code, Arms Act, Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA).

The NIA special court, after hearing the defence and prosecution's arguments, pronounced the quantum of sentence.

According to NIA, Riyaz Bhatkal arranged for explosive substances and directed Asadullah Akhtar and Zia-ur-Rahman at Mangalore to receive the same.

After receiving the explosive materials and the money sent by Riyaz through hawala and money transfer channels, Asadullah Akhtar and Waqas reached Hyderabad and joined Tahseen Akhtar, who was already hiding there, it had said.

Together they prepared two IEDs after procuring the other required materials as well as two cycles for mounting the IEDs from Hyderabad, the agency had said.

After preparation of the IEDs on February 21, 2013, the accused mounted two bombs on two bicycles. They had planted them in two separate places in Dilsukhnagar which resulted in powerful explosions, it had said.

-- PTI

Also read - Hyderabad Dilsukhnagar blast: Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal, four others convicted

First published: 19 December 2016, 18:46 IST