Home » National News » Pragya Thakur nominated to defence ministry panel

Pragya Thakur nominated to defence ministry panel

News Agencies | Updated on: 21 November 2019, 14:06 IST
Pragya Thakur (File Photo )

Lok Sabha member Pragya Singh Thakur on Thursday was nominated to the Parliamentary Consultative Committee of the Ministry of Defence.

The chairman of this Committee is Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

Also Read: Bihar woman accuses ex-RJD MP's son of sexual harassment on pretext of marriage

She is one of the accused in the Malegaon blasts case and was granted bail by the Bombay High court on health grounds in April 2017 after charges against her under the Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act were dropped by the National Investigation Agency.

Thakur also fought the Lok Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh and defeated Congress leader Digvijaya Singh by a good margin of votes.

Apart from Thakur, Dr Farooq Abdullah, Chhedi Paswan, Supriya Sule, Sharad Pawar and JP Nadda have also been nominated for the 21-member parliamentary consultative committee.


Also Read: Mumbai: Auto decked up with facilities like washbasin, plants, monitor

First published: 21 November 2019, 13:13 IST