Home » national news » Gulberg Society massacre: 11 get life imprisonment, 12 get 7 years in jail

Gulberg Society massacre: 11 get life imprisonment, 12 get 7 years in jail

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 10 February 2017, 1:50 IST

On 17 June, the quantum of punishment for those convicted in the Gulberg Society massacre was pronounced by the Special SIT court in Ahmedabad. The court of special judge PB Desai awarded life term to 11 convicts, and 7 years imprisonment for 12 convicts with lesser charges. One has been sentenced to 10 years imprisonment.

On 2 June, the court had convicted 11 people for murder and other offences, while charging 13 others, including VHP leader Atul Vaidya, with lesser offences and acquitting 36 others. A prime accused in the case, Kailash Dhobi, who had been arrested in 2002 but jumped his temporary bail this February, surrendered before the court on 13 June.

Sixty-nine people, including former Congress lawmaker Ehsan Jafri, were killed in a mob attack on the building on 28 February, 2002, a day after a coach of the Sabarmati Express was burnt near Godhra train station, in which 58 kar sevaks returning from Ayodhya died.

The public prosecutor representing the Supreme Court appointed Special Investigation Team, RC Kodekar, had asked the court for the death sentence or jail term till death for all 24 convicts. He was backed by SM Vora, the victims' lawyer, who also sought maximum punishment for the accused, and argued that the sentencing for each offence should not run concurrently so that they spend their entire life in jail.

About 400 people had attacked the Gulberg Society at the start of the 2002 Gujarat riots. Of the 66 accused named by the SIT in the case, nine are in jail, while others are out on bail.

First published: 17 June 2016, 11:42 IST