115 Samajwadi Party candidates to contest 2017 BMC election: Abu Azmi

News Agencies | First published: 14 November 2016, 18:44 IST
Abu Azmi

The Samajwadi Party (SP) will be fielding as many as 115 candidates in the upcoming BMC election slated to be held in 2017.

SP, currently, has nine corporators in the country's richest civic body.

"Party chief Abu Asim Azmi has announced to field as many as 115 party candidates in upcoming Mumbai civic polls," SP said in a statement.

This decision was taken after Azmi held consultations with the party members and senior leaders.

"The party has geared up itself to fight the upcoming Mumbai civic polls without having any alliance with other parties. Therefore, senior party leaders have unanimously decided to contest the election on 115 seats."

It also said that it will field its nominees in the north-Indian dominated seats of the metropolis.

"We have a stronghold in the localities wherein North-Indians are found in large numbers. Few of them are Sewri, Wadala, Kurla, Dharavi, Govandi, Mankhurd, Shivaji Nagar, Bandra East, Jogeshwari etc and the stretch up to Borivli where we have high hopes to get the vote in our favour."