Home » IPL News » KXIP vs MI Team Preview: Predicted playing XI for Dream 11 fantasy league

KXIP vs MI Team Preview: Predicted playing XI for Dream 11 fantasy league

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 30 March 2019, 11:33 IST

The Mumbai Indians will look to build on their thrilling win over Royal Challengers Bangalore when they take on Kings XI Punjab in Match 9 of VIVO IPL 2019.

MI snatched victory from the jaws of defeat in Bengaluru on Thursday night. It took three brilliant performances to earn MI their first points of the season. First, Hardik Pandya’s cameo at the backend of the innings gave them a respectable sore to defend, then right at the fag end of RCB’s run-chase, Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga bowled two sensation overs to deny the hosts.

Kings XI Punjab were blown away by the Kolkata Knight Riders in their previous match. After conceding 218-4 – the highest total in IPL matches at the Eden Gardens, KXIP slipped early when they lost KL Rahul and Chris Gayle cheaply. Thereafter, they were playing catch-up all the time; despite half-centuries from Mayank Agarwal and David Miller, and a cameo from Mandeep Singh, KXIP still fell short by 28 runs.

KL Rahul was among the stand out batsmen in VIVO IPL 2018, but he’s endured some rough times on and off the field since. Rahul, who has made scores of 4 & 1 in his two innings this season, is a vital cog in KXIP’s plans and the team management will expect a significant performance from him sooner rather than later.

Overall: Matches – 22, Kings XI Punjab – 10, Mumbai Indians won – 12. Last season, the Mumbai Indians won both their matches against Kings XI Punjab. In the first meeting in Indore, Krunal Pandya’s cameo – 31 from 12 balls – helped MI chase down 174. In the return fixture in Mumbai, the visitors needed 17 runs off the last over, but they could only score 13 runs off Mitchell McClenaghan. MI emerged victors by 3 runs.

Playing XI:

Kings XI Punjab: KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Sarfaraz Khan, David Miller, Mandeep Singh, R Ashwin, Varun Chakravarthy, Hardus Viljoen, Andrew Tye, Mohammed Shami.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah.

Dream 11:

KL Rahul (WK), Rohit Sharma (C), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Yuvraj Singh, David Miller (VC), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Hardus Viljoen

Also read: IPL 2019 SRH vs RR: Hyderabad pulled off the highest run chase of IPL 2019 to beat Royals by 5 wickets

First published: 30 March 2019, 11:33 IST