Home » Hockey News » CRPF crowned Senior Women Hockey champions

CRPF crowned Senior Women Hockey champions

News Agencies | Updated on: 5 February 2018, 12:36 IST
CRPF crowned Senior Women Hockey champions (ANI)

Central Reserve Police Force was crowned as champions of the 8th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2018 (B Division) after they defeated Kerala Hockey by a margin of 7-0 in the final match of the competition here last evening.

Whereas, it was Steel Plant Sports Board who defeated Bengaluru Hockey Association 4-0 in the third-fourth classification match.

In the final match, CRPF produced a performance worthy of becoming champions as they dominated the match from the start, scoring their first goal in the third minute through a Penalty Corner which was converted by Pragya Mourya.

They continued their fine attacking display to score one more goal in the first quarter to take a 2-0 lead.

In the second quarter, CRPF scored twice to stamp their authority on the match as they led 4-0. It was a tough ask for Kerala to make a comeback into the match as they were 0-4 down, and CRPF defended well to keep their lead intact. Kerala ended up conceding three more goals in the last two quarters and lost the match to CRPF.

Goals for CRPF were scored by Pricilia Tirkey (12', 22', 47', 59'), Pragya Mourya (3'), Siddhi Singh (19') and Bharti Thakur (45').

In the third-fourth classification match, Steel Plant Sports Board defeated Bengaluru Hockey Association by a margin of 4-0. It was a competitive match in the opening quarter, but Steel Plant Sports Board opened the scoring in the second quarter to set the momentum and ended up scoring four goals inside six minutes to stamp their authority on the match. It was a matter of defending well in the last two quarters for Steel Plant Sports Board, and they were up to the task which saw them secure a 4-0 victory.

Goals for Steel Plant Sports Board were scored by Chanda Singh (23', 25'), skipper Shikha Sharma (19') and Shweta Singh (21').


First published: 5 February 2018, 12:36 IST