Home » Education News » JNU election 2016 results: Vote-counting trends

JNU election 2016 results: Vote-counting trends

Vikas Kumar | Updated on: 10 September 2016, 17:35 IST

JNU elections are currently underway today on 10 September. Counting of votes for the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Delhi elections commenced early today morning. As of now, Left Unity is leading in three positions. Here are the latest updates, live from JNU campus:

6.35 pm: Trends after counting 3572 votes


Deelip Kumar (SFS) - 149

Jahnavi (ABVP) - 620

Mohit (AISA-SFI) - 1375

Rahul (BAPSA) - 1201


Amal PP (Left unity) - 1801

Banshidhar (BAPSA) - 570

Ravi Ranjan (ABVP) - 713

General Secretary

P Manikanta (BAPSA) - 661

Satarupa (Left unity) - 1699

Vijay Kumar (ABVP) - 881

Joint Secretary

A A Prajapati (BAPSA) - 449

Om Prakash (ABVP) - 588

Pratim Ghoshal (DSF) - 1034

Tabrez Hasan (Left Unity) - 1133

5.35 pm: Trends after counting 2481 votes


Jahnavi 425 ABVP

Mohit 1060 Left unity

Rahul 853 BAPSA


Amal PP 1350 Left unity

Banshidhar 406 BAPSA

Ravi Ranjan 485ABVP

General Secretary

P Manikanta 483 BAPSA

Satarupa 1285Left unity

Vijay Kumar 583 ABVP

Joint Secretary

A A Prajapati 315 BAPSA

Om Prakash 411 ABVP

Pratim Ghoshal 760 DSF

Tabrez 844 Left Unity

4.00 pm: Trends after counting 1750 votes

Jahnavi 278 ABVP

Mohit 764 Left unity

Rahul 526 BAPSA


Amal PP 940 Left unity

Banshidhar 235 BAPSA

Ravi Ranjan 317 ABVP

General Secretary

P Manikanta 284 BAPSA

Satarupa 918Left unity

Vijay Kumar 383 ABVP

Joint Secretary

A A Prajapati 174 BAPSA

Om Prakash 252 ABVP

Pratim Ghoshal 541 DSF

Tabrez 592 Left unity

3:18 am: Vote count trends at JNU

According to the latest update, None Of The Above (NOTA) has more votes than NSUI party. Left is leading.

2.10 pm: Election trends after 900 votes


Jahnavi (ABVP) 113

Mohit (Left Unity) 427

Rahul (BAPSA) 279

Vice-President at JNU

Amal PP (Left Unity) 525

Banshidhar (BAPSA) 113

Ravi Ranjan (ABVP) 128

Gen Secretary

P Manikanta (BAPSA) 152

Satarupa (Left Unity) 509

Vijay Kumar (ABVP) 162

Joint Secretary

A A Prajapati (BAPSA) 85

Om Prakash (ABVP) 99

Pratim Ghoshal (DSF) 310

Tabrez (Left Unity) 309

11:30 am: Trends after 150 votes counted

Left Unity panel is leading for President, VP, General Secretary polls.

For the post of Joint Secretary, Tabrez Ahmad is 10 votes behind Pratim from DSF, but is expected to take a lead soon.

School of Social Sciences - Left Unity Panel leading with significant margins on all five seats.

School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies (SLL&CS) - Left Unity has won all five seats.

School of International Studies (SIS) - Left Unity won 4 out of 5. DSF won 1 post.

School of Arts and Aesthetics (SAA) - Mukesh from Left Unity has won a seat.

Science Schools - All non-ABVP candidates have won.

Sanskrit Centre - ABVP councillor has won a seat.

The JNU polls were held on from 9.30 am to 1 pm and from 2.30 pm to 5.30 pm on 9 September.

The chief parties contesting the elections are:

1. The All India Students' Association (AISA) and the Students' Federation of India (SFI) - have joined hands under the banner of 'Left Unity.

2. The Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students' Association (BAPSA)

3. The Congress-backed National Students' Union of India (NSUI)

4. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of RSS

5. Students for Swaraj

Edited by Ipsita Sarkar

First published: 10 September 2016, 12:27 IST