Home » cricket news » Women IPL, TBL v SNO: One more step towards strengthening women's cricket in India

Women IPL, TBL v SNO: One more step towards strengthening women's cricket in India

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 22 May 2018, 16:31 IST

TBL and SNO have set a milestone being a part to first ever women's IPL T20 match. The Supernovas won the toss and chose to bowl first. They invited the trailblazers to bat first and totally stunned them with their disciplined and controlled bowling attack.

Australia’s Megan Schutt struck twice with the new ball, removing Healey and Beth Mooney cheaply to destroy the Trailblazers’ top-order.

Looking at the surging popularity of the women's cricket, BCCI had recently announced this IPL match as an effort to boost women's cricket in India in the shortest format of cricket.

Smriti Mandhana, captain of IPL Trailblazers, said, “This is the first ever match we will be playing with foreign players on Indian soil. Everyone is excited to be part of this historical moment. We all are looking forward to expressing ourselves in front of an audience.”

"The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women's league that can match the exuberance of IPL. Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy among others rubbing shoulders with foreign stars will be a unique experience and something that we have not witnessed here in India."


With an eye on the growing popularity in the country, the women's cricket is gaining ground and this wave may soon pave way for the women IPL.


Here's the complete squad of the women's IPL teams



Alyssa Healy (W)

Smriti Mandhana (C)

Suzie Bates

Deepti Sharma

Beth Mooney

Jemimah Rodrigues

Danielle Hazell

Shikha Pandey

Lea Tahuhu

Jhulan Goswami

Ekta Bisht

Poonam Yadav

Dayalan Hemalatha

Taniya Bhatia (W)



Danielle Wyatt

Mithali Raj

Meg Lanning

Harmanpreet Kaur (C)

Sophie Devine

Ellyse Perry

Veda Krishnamurthy

Mona Meshram

Pooja Vastrakar

Megan Schutt

Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Anuja Patil

Also Read:  CSK v SRH, Playoff 1: The clash of the Titans, best bowlers against the best batting line up

First published: 22 May 2018, 16:31 IST