Home » cricket news » Shocking! India Vs England, 4th Test: Twitterati reacts on two different line rules for bowler and batsmen!

Shocking! India Vs England, 4th Test: Twitterati reacts on two different line rules for bowler and batsmen!

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 1 September 2018, 16:13 IST

After a couple of morale-crushing defeats in the first two Tests (31 runs at Edgbaston) and (innings defeat at the Lord's), Virat Kohli registered a memorable victory in the third Test in Nottingham by 203 runs which helped them to bounce back in the five-match Test series.

Ben Stokes dismissal of Ajinkya Rahane became the highlight of the second session mainly because of how things proceeded during the review.

Ajinkya Rahane was adjudged LBW, it happened on the penultimate delivery of the 47th over of Ben Stokes but when Ajinkya Rahane decided to review that decision, TV replays suggested that Stokes' foot may have overstepped.

It was observed that Ben Stokes’ front foot was seen crossing the line. The same was evident even after some replays. However, umpire Joel Wilson was of another opinion and ruled the ball as a ‘fair delivery’, from here the controversy starts.

The same incident happened in the same Test when Joe Root was adjuged to LBW on penultimate delivery. It was seen that Jasprit Bumrah front foot was crossing the line but unfortunately it was the no ball.

India bowled out England for 246 on the opening day of the fourth Test match at The Ageas Bowl cricket Stadium in Southampton. In five Test match series, this is the first time in Test cricket five different Indian bowlers have scalped 10-plus wickets each in a same Test series.

Indian Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

England Squad:

Joe Root (c), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Oliver Pope, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Chris Woakes, Ben Stokes, James Vince.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2018: BCCI announced the Indian squad; Virat Kohli replaced by this player

First published: 1 September 2018, 16:07 IST