Home » cricket news » Jofra Archer gets maiden Test call-up, England announces Ashes squad

Jofra Archer gets maiden Test call-up, England announces Ashes squad

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 July 2019, 18:30 IST

England cricket board announced their 14-member squad for the upcoming Ashes series against Australia. England’s World Cup-winning bowler Jofra Archer got his maiden Test call-up. Ben Stokes was reinstated as vice-captain of England.

Joe Root has been named the captain of the England side. Australia has never won the Ashes in England since 2001.


Australia announced their squad yesterday and all the three players who were banned for ball-tampering are included in the team. David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft will play their first Test after a year. The Ashes series will start from August 1 in Birmingham, England.

England’s Ashes squad

Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Joe Root (c), Ben Stokes (VC), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Jofra Archer, Joe Denly, James Anderson, Joseph Burns, Olly Stone.

Australia’s Ashes squad

Tim Paine (c), Cameron Bancroft, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner.

First published: 27 July 2019, 18:30 IST