Home » cricket news » Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami among others recommended for Arjuna award

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami among others recommended for Arjuna award

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 27 April 2019, 15:39 IST
Jasprit Bumrah

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recommended the names of Indian cricketers Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja and Poonam Yadav for Arjuna award. Started 1961, the awards are given to recognise outstanding achievements in sports.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja were all picked up for India’s World Cup squad that will play in England in June this year.

Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah have been in good form recently. Shami who was only playing Test cricket for India from last couple of seasons made a fantastic comeback in the limited overs cricket. Bumrah on the other hand is known as death over specialist and has given some great performances in all three formats.

Ravindra Jadeja was out of the team after his poor performance in 2017 Champions Trophy but got a call-back this year. He has been picked up as one of the three spinners in India’s World Cup team. Jadeja is considered as one of the best fielder of modern day cricket.

Poonam Yadav has been deservedly nominated from the women’s national cricket team. Poonam is a right-arm legbreak bowler who has played 23 ODIs and has picked up 33 wickets at an average of 20.21. Poonam made her debut for India in 2013 against Bangladesh.

Also read: This engineer who once played for India is now American cricket team's captain

First published: 27 April 2019, 15:39 IST