Home » cricket news » India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI: Virat Kohli win toss elect to bat first at Wankhede Stadium

India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI: Virat Kohli win toss elect to bat first at Wankhede Stadium

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 22 October 2017, 16:42 IST
India vs New Zealand, 1st ODI

Virat Kohli-led team India win toss and elected to bat first against New Zealand and is all set to play first ODI after their recent 4-1 win over world champions Australia.

Team India is looking to continue their winning streak at at home turf when they take on New Zealand in the first ODI of the three-match series, beginning at the Wankhede Stadium on 22nd October.

The Men in Blue, who have been performing exceedingly well at home, will be raring to give a fitting tribute to skipper Virat Kohli, who is all set to play his 200th ODI.

To the extent the squad is concerned, Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik and Shardul Thakur returned for the three-match series against New Zealand, while there was still no space for Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja in the Indian 50-over side.

For New Zealand, spinner Ish Sodhi, who was initially only named in the T20I squad, had replaced injured Todd Astle in the ODI side.

India, who are as of now standing second in the ODI rankings, can recover the best ODI spot from South Africa on the off chance that they win the series against New Zealand by 3-0.

The second ODI will take place in Pune on Wednesday, with the third to be held in Kanpur on October 29.

The two sides will then play three T20I matches. New Zealand are currently ranked fifth in the world.

Following a home series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka, the Kohli-led team will embark on a tour of South Africa, comprising of three Tests, six ODIs and three T20I in January next year.

India ODI Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur

New Zealand ODI squad: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, George Worker, Henry Nicholls.

-With ANI inputs

First published: 22 October 2017, 13:20 IST