Home » cricket news » Bad umpiring in World Cup final can cost New Zealand its first trophy
 
SPEED NEWS

Bad umpiring in World Cup final can cost New Zealand its first trophy

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 14 July 2019, 20:43 IST

The ongoing World Cup in England and Wales has seen many instances of bad umpiring but now one such incident has come to haunt New Zealand in the final of the tournament. In the second semi-final of World Cup between England and Australia, Jason Roy became a victim of Kumar Dharmasena’s bad umpiring and now in the final between England and New Zealand, it is Ross Taylor who lost his wicket because of Dharmasena.

The incident took place in the 33rd over when Ross Taylor was given out leg before by Kumar Dharmasena but the replay showed that the ball did not hit wickets and it was pitching outside line. The decision cost New Zealand as one of their best batsmen was dismissed for just 15 runs. Ross Taylor scored a crucial 74 runs in the semi-final match against India and he could have done some damage if he was not given out wrongly.

 

In the first semi-final match between New Zealand and India, umpires failed to notice the fielding error while in the second semi-final their bad decision cost Jason Roy a century.

New Zealand scored 241 runs from 50 overs in the first innings after Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat first. Henry Nicholls scored 55 runs for New Zealand while Tom Latham scored 47. Kane Williamson was dismissed for 30 runs.

Also read: Kane Williamson becomes highest run-getter as captain in World Cup history

First published: 14 July 2019, 20:43 IST
 
PREVIOUS STORY
NEXT STORY