Home » Assembly Elections 2017 » Assembly election 2017: BJP ahead in 55 seats in Uttarakhand

Assembly election 2017: BJP ahead in 55 seats in Uttarakhand

News Agencies | Updated on: 11 March 2017, 12:46 IST

The BJP is leading in 55 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, while ruling Congress was racing ahead in 11, except Chief Minister Harish Rawat who lost Haridwar (Rural) seat.

Trends are available now for all 70 seats out of which BJP leads in 55, Congress in 11 and Independents in 4, state election office here said.

However, Chief Minister Harish Rawat lost Haridwar (Rural) seat to BJP's Yatishwaranand by over 12,000 votes. In the initial rounds, Rawat was also trailing in Kichcha, the other seat he was contesting.

Congress veteran Indira Hridayesh is also trailing in Haldwani.

Most of the Congress turncoats trying their luck as BJP nominees this time including Harak Singh Rawat, Subodh Uniyal, Rekha Arya, Saurav Bahuguna, Pradeep Batra, Yashpal Arya and Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion are leading in their respective seats barring Shailendra Mohan Singhal and Shailarani Rawat who are trailing in Jaspur and Kedarnath constituencies respectively.

BJP nominees Munna Singh Chauhan, Ganesh Joshi, Vinod Chamoli, Harbans Kapoor, Khajan Singh and Rajesh Shukla are also leading in their seats.

BJP's Ritu Khanduri, Kedar Singh, Satpal Maharaj, Bharat Singh, Rajkumar Thukral, Yatishwaranand, Madan Kaushik, Dhan Singh Rawat, Dhan Singh Negi, Magan Lal Shah, Narayan Singh Rana are all leading in their respective seats.


First published: 11 March 2017, 12:46 IST