Home » National News » Viral Video: BSP lawmaker Ramabai Singh warns MP Congress over ministerial berths; says, ‘hum mantriyo ke baap hain’

Viral Video: BSP lawmaker Ramabai Singh warns MP Congress over ministerial berths; says, ‘hum mantriyo ke baap hain’

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 26 January 2019, 12:04 IST

The political crisis in Madhya Pradesh hasn’t ended yet, the ministerial berths sharing is yet creating trouble for the chief Minister Kamal Nath-led government as party ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has warned it over the ministerial berth share. The BSP lawmaker Ramabai Singh had warned Congress government in the state that if she and the other BSP lawmaker are not given ministerial berths, their government may witness Karnataka-like situation.

Speaking at a public meeting in Damoh, Ramabai Singh said that she will do good work even if not made a minister and referred herself as the "baap" (boss) of all ministers as BSP supported the Congress, which fell short of majority mark in the recently concluded Assembly elections.

"Hum ban Jaye toh achha kaam karenge, nahi baney toh bhi sahi kaam karenge...Hum mantriyo ke baap hain, humne hi sarkar banayi hai (If I become a minister I will do good work, if I don't then also I would do the right work. We (two BSP lawmakers) are the boss of all ministers, we have made this government)," the lawmaker from Pathariya told news agency ANI.

Ramabai Singh and the Sanjeev Kushwaha are the two BSP lawmakers, whose support have led Congress to form their government in Madhya Pradesh.

Earlier, Ramabai Singh had said that the Congress "needs to keep everyone happy" if it wants a strong government in Madhya Pradesh. "If they don't give us ministerial berth, then not only me but others will also oppose. They need to keep everyone happy. If he wants a strong government, then firstly, he must make us strong. He should give us ministerial berths," the BSP lawmaker said.

In the recent assembly election that concluded, Madhya Pradesh saw a nail-biting fight, where Congress bagged 114 seats out of 230, BJP rolled down at 109 seats. The BSP won two seats while the Samajwadi Party got one and four seats were won by the Independents.

Also read: Republic Day 2019: Who is Cyril Ramaphosa? All about the chief guest of India’s 70th Republic Day parade

First published: 26 January 2019, 12:04 IST