Home » national news » Telangana CM inaugurates 21 new districts; state map redrawn

Telangana CM inaugurates 21 new districts; state map redrawn

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 11 February 2017, 5:47 IST

Telangana Rashtra Samithi government, as a Dushera gift, on 11 October, unveiled 21 new districts with an aim to improve administration and drew Telangana's new map.

With the inclusion of new districts, the total number of districts standa at 31. Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao inaugurated Siddipet district at 11:13 am. Simultaneously, 20 other new districts were inaugurated by his cabinet colleagues.

Telangana Assembly speaker S Madhusudhana Chary inaugurated Jayashankar district while Council Chairman K Swamy Goud launched Jangaon district. Warangal Rural was inaugurated by Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari.

Sixteen other districts inaugurated on Tuesday were; Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Medak, Mancherial, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad, Jogulamba and Medchal (Malkajgiri).

The government has also created 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police subdivisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations.

CM Rao claimed that the move will help in effective monitoring and implementation of welfare schemes. However, Opposition parties have criticised the government for reorganising the districts in an 'unscientific' manner.

First published: 11 October 2016, 3:14 IST