Home » National News » Sunny Deol joins BJP, likely to contest from Gurdaspur; says 'My work will do the talking'

Sunny Deol joins BJP, likely to contest from Gurdaspur; says 'My work will do the talking'

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 23 April 2019, 12:33 IST

Bollywood actor Sunny Deol has joined Bharatiya Janata Party in New Delhi on Tuesday, in presence of Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Railway Minister Piyush Goyal. The Gadar actor is likely to contest from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat in Punjab. The Bollywood actor will have a face-off with Congress' sitting MP and Gurdaspur candidate, Sunil Jakhar.

"I am indeed very happy to welcome firebrand young great artist from Bollywood. The moment we got to know that he is coming to the party, I could relate to the film 'Border'," said Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman.

"The way my Papa worked with and supported Atal ji, I am here today to work with and support Modi ji. My work will do the talking," BJP's new recruit Sunny Deol said.

However, the saffron party has not made any announcement in this regard as yet. Earlier, Bollywood actor Vinod Khanna had won from Gurdaspur in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections. However, the actor-turned-politician had passed away in April 2017. And the bypoll was won by Congress candidate Sunil Kumar Jakhar. 

Sunny Deol’s father was Dharmendra had contested from Rajasthan's Bikaner in the 2004 Lok Sabha Election on BJP’s ticket and has won the battle. However, he did not contest elections afterwards.

While, Sunny’s stepmother, Hema Malini officially joined BJP in 2004. From 2003 to 2009 she served as an MP to upper house Rajya Sabha.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Malini contested from Mathura and defeated incumbent, RLD’s Jayant Chaudhary. She has been again fled from Mathura. On April 14, Dharmendra had campaigned for his wife in Uttar Pradesh's Mathura.

The 62-year-old actor Sunny Deol is best known for his roles as an action hero in superhit movies like Border, Gadar: Ek Prem Katha, and Ghatak. Punjab will go to polls in a single phase on May 19.


Also read: Congress announces candidates for all 7 Delhi seats; fields Sheila Dikshit, boxer Vijender Singh

First published: 23 April 2019, 11:52 IST