Home » National News » PM Modi reacts after Lionel Messi-led Argentina wins FIFA World Cup 2022

PM Modi reacts after Lionel Messi-led Argentina wins FIFA World Cup 2022

Speed News Desk | Updated on: 19 December 2022, 10:58 IST

With Argentina putting an end to its title drought at the FIFA World Cup on Sunday in Qatar, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Lionel Messi led side after the South American giants defeated defending champions France in the FIFA World Cup 2022 final. Argentina outclassed France on penalties to land its third FIFA World Cup title.

Messi won his first ever World Cup title as Argentina outclassed France 4-2 on penalties after playing out a six-goal thriller in Qatar.

Taking to Twitter following Argentina’s triumph, PM Modi shared a tweet to laud the Messi-led side. The Indian Prime Minister also gave Argentina President Alberto Fernández a special mention in his tweet.

“This will be remembered as one of the most thrilling Football matches! Congrats to Argentina on becoming #FIFAWorldCup Champions! They’ve played brilliantly through the tournament. Millions of Indian fans of Argentina and Messi rejoice in the magnificent victory! @alferdez,” PM Modi tweeted.


In another tweet, the Indian Prime Minister also congratulated France for playing out a memorable final with Argentina at the Qatar World Cup 2022. “Congratulations to France for a spirited performance at the #FIFAWorldCup! They also delighted Football fans with their skill and sportsmanship on the way to the finals. @EmmanuelMacron,” PM Modi added.


Leo Messi opened the scoring for Argentina before Angel Di Maria doubled the lead of the South American giants in the first half. However, France’s late comeback in the second half as striker Mbappe scored a stunning brace for the defending champions. Messi seemed to have decided the goal-fest final with his second goal in extra time before Mbappe made his presence felt by completing his hat-trick. Mbappe scored his third goal in the 118th minute to set up the penalty shootout.

Also Read: From Shah Rukh Khan to Kartik Aaryan: Here's how Bollywood celebs reacted to Argentina's victory in FIFA World Cup final

First published: 19 December 2022, 10:58 IST